Mini Grants

Mini Grant Applications 2017

Ken Woodruff Mini Grant

Application: Download

Sharon Ball Mini Grant

Application: Download


Mini Grant Winners 2017


Ken Woodruff mini Grants

$200 Awards:

*Marjorie Potter George Earle School – TheEarly Learning Center, Hobart, IN

*Amber Zdankiewicz of Westville Elementary School – Title 1 Program, Westville, IN

*Shannon Chavis of Joy ElementarySchool – Michigan City, IN

*Lynne Clinkert of Michigan City High School – Freshman Academy, Michigan City, IN
Sharon Ball Mini Grants

$200 Award:

*Friends of the Crown Point Adult Learning Center





The Valparaiso Adult Learning Center benefited greatly from the

Northwest Indiana Literacy Coalition’s grant opportunity. Two of the

teachers, Sana Mirza and Amy Berube, will be able to broaden the scope

of the reading materials available in their classes. These English As a

Second Language classes have a diverse group of learners from a

plethora of countries throughout the world.



Language instruction is an essential part of assimilating into a new

country. Financial literacy is also an important part of adjusting to a

new culture. Sana and Amy are vital because they teach the most

relevant skills. Here we observe the discussion of ordering and paying

for a meal at a restaurant.



The child care instructors, Carmen Bustos and Ruth Hart, were thrilled

to receive a mini grant from the literacy coalition. NEO recognizes the

importance of lifelong literacy working with both the preschool children

and their parents in the adult education program.



Carmen and Ruth wanted to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving

because they were very thankful to receive this grant.



Marilyn Bernal, teacher of the After School program, shares with her

excited students the news that she will be able to purchase additional

STEM materials for their use at the library.



The After School program is held at the Francesville-Salem Township

Public Library, which celebrated its 100 th anniversary this year. It was

originally a Carnegie Library.



Mini Grant $200.00 winner Sharon Santiago from John Simatovich Elem School in Valporaiso.



Rebecca Gouwens at Timothy Ball Elementary in Crown Point.